divine

Every now and again I get inspired to put something out there for the world. Something that struck me as inspirational or that I haven’t thought of in such a way. Sometimes I share those on Facebook, but I don’t want to overload it with things of God and faith. I don’t want to be that person you scroll over and don’t look at what I do post. haha.

It’s just that I see so much hurting in the world around me. Things that are harder than they’ve ever been. Things that push us to the limit of ‘faith’ and cross into the realm of questioning God with “Why?!”
photo (32)photo (26)

photo (27)photo (28)
All I know is I search for encouragement every single day, and when I find something that helps me understand or eases the ache a little I want to share it with you. Just in case it might be the little thing you might need to help you chin up, even if just for a little while.

I post about Oswald Chambers a lot. I realize this. he was a man so full of wisdom. And when I read something that he has written about enduring the hard stuff it doesn’t turn me off as legalism. I think this is because I have read about his struggles and hardship, yet he published so many books that are encouraging and insightful. They make you think deeper about what it means to be a follower of Jesus.

In my devotional a few days back I got a wake up call. It was about m o n e y.

Oh, it wasn’t your typical “money is the root of all evil” bit. Oh, no. It cut right to the heart of this (amateur) budget savvy woman. (Some of you may scoff at my use of ‘amateur’ here, seeing as how I rarely buy something without a coupon, discount or receiving some cash back–but have you seen THIS lady’s website? She’s my new mentor. haha!)
photo (24)photo (33)
photo (31)photo (29)

I often find myself saying to my children “we can’t do that we don’t have the money.” Or, “we are barely scraping by!” In fact, my children say to me (and I’m sure others) “we can’t afford to do that.” On this day of all days, I started reading “The Habit of Wealth” (it’s just a short devotion passage.) I was shocked to see that in saying these things, I am cutting God short of the glory I thought I was giving to him.

“And all the Almighty God is ours in the Lord Jesus! And He will tax the last grain of sand and the remotest star to bless us if we will obey Him.”

I didn’t think I was wallowing in self pity to say these things. I thought I was just being honest and showing the children you don’t buy what you can’t afford when you have needs to purchase for first. Which, in itself is not bad, I don’t believe. However, in the grand scheme of everything, we truly want for nothing.

There is always just enough food and just enough gas (or just enough money for the gas), etc.

Always just enough.

And this is where the problem lies. There is no distinction between look at all we have! And look at what we don’t have the money for.
photo (25)photo (34)

photo (30)photo (35)
Then, encouragement:

“When God is beginning to be satisfied with us He will impoverish everything in the nature of fictitious wealth, until we learn that all our fresh springs are in Him. “

I ask sometimes, I ask God himself! Why are you keeping us from paying stuff off so we can become what we as a family need to be before You? I don’t know the answer to this (perhaps, this isn’t from God at all, but from our enemy) At any rate, we are definitely becoming impoverished from fictitious wealth.

At least we have the encouragement that it is because He wants our focus to solely be on what He is providing for us. At least we know what we need to be growing towards!

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. ~Psalm 73:26

That’s not in the budget right now! 😀 This will be my new phrase.

About mamalotsoftots

mamalotsoftots, doesn't that say it all? ;) View all posts by mamalotsoftots

2 responses to “divine

Leave a Reply

