easy

photo (20)

The people who influence us most are not those who buttonhole us and talk to us, but those who live their lives like the stars in heaven and the lilies in the field, perfectly simply and unaffectedly. Those are the lives that mold us.
~Oswald Chambers in My Utmost For His Highest

photo (21)I’m sitting here today totless. A new week has begun, another week of ‘vacation’ for them. For me these are the times of hardest faith. My darkest moments. The only reason I look back with longing on what used to be.

Unlimited.

Unhindered.

Time with them.

It’s easy to slip into depression when you think on these things. And yet it’s easier on these days. I don’t have to get up and make breakfast and make the conscious decision to follow our schedule or not. I can read and eat when I want. Yet, though it is easier, it is not better. And this easy that is not better is on my heart today. What drives us to choose either the ‘easy’ or ‘hard.’

I believe that being an example is what will help others choose whats right for them. Telling my children to not waste the time their given is easy, barking orders at them to keep them busy, but what do they learn from it? They learn to just do what their told with hate in their heart and an I can’t wait to get out of here. Being the example for them and not letting myself waste time or put off another something I need to do, that takes effort. But if by doing this, I help create these habits in them, what is hard for me as an adult, will be another good habit for them. I am making their life easier in the long run. These habits will, hopefully, be second nature to them.

Being around people that just take life as it comes at them and you’re drawn to them. The happy  one, the one who smiles when they have every reason to be sad.

Those that do this because they know the source of life and that whatever comes, they will be    alright. They are the calm in the storm. The one you are drawn to.  The one you want to ask all your  questions to, the one that  reminds you of what it might be like to talk with Jesus.

They aren’t perfect and they definitely aren’t Jesus. But they are encouraging and can help us see  the light when we are looking for the escape hatch.

photo (22)What do these themes have in common? Firstly, I’d like to know more of them. 😀 That will come I’m  sure. All in good time. Secondly, though, I want to be this person for my children. They have so much uncertainty in their life. They’ve seen a lot in their little lives. I feel confident, though, that with prayer (might I ask for prayer for them?) and the example we’re trying to show them that they can make the distinction between easy and better.

Think about your life for a moment.  When have you taken the easy path and realized it had turned out to be more difficult than the better path would have been. When can you see in your life where you thought to yourself, “this would be easier and a temporary fix, but I know that I should make this choice and endure?”  I’m sure there are moments in your life that are very clear to you where you can see these things. I know I certainly can!
photo (23)

About mamalotsoftots

mamalotsoftots, doesn't that say it all? ;) View all posts by mamalotsoftots

Leave a Reply

