overcoming

HAPPYIt’s been little more than a month since we have found ourselves in an opposite type of reality. I sit here tired, not sure why I even thought of my blog (since it has been since August the last time I wrote to you.) However, I am here. I am listening to hymns played on the piano and remembering when it was I that could play that way. Though I have not lost the know how, I have lost the flexibility I once had. All from the lack of practice. I’ve lost a lot of flexibility from lack of practice in many areas of life. I am sitting here staring at chore cards and working on a master chore list from a book I purchased from Titus2.com and I remember when I first purchased this book to begin training my children how to live every moment to the fullest before we hit rock bottom and had to function out on crisis mode. That was a long time ago. Time marches us forward.

Disneyprincesses

1 Corinthians 10:13
The Message (MSG)
13 No test or temptation that comes your way is beyond the course of what others have had to face. All you need to remember is that God will never let you down; he’ll never let you be pushed past your limit; he’ll always be there to help you come through it.

I was reading the book of James on Biblegateway.com, listening to this music, trying to put kids to bed, too much was going on. Add in tiredness and a beginning of irritation. Just how the Spirit does, I found myself remembering the NIV version of the verse above. “No temptation has overcome you except that which is common to mankind.”

youandmeOf all the things I have endured in this life of mine (that are common to man), this season is mild. So we’re working on opposite ends of the days? So what if this is new for us and we have a hard time warming up to it? Many couples work split shifts from each other. Though it is rough right now, I am happy for the blessings graciously given to us. I am happy for the joy that my heart feels on a regular basis (not just from this switching of shifts, but just how for life is for us right now.) There is much more to accomplish to get to where we need to be, but we have time to get there, as long as we keep striving for it with our very best effort. In all these things, I am thankful for the trials. Wow. I never though I would get to the point in my life where I could say that. There are so many things that I miss in this life that I will never again feel, so far as I know. However, we have to trade this for that. Life will never be perfect here. No one will ever satisfy our longing for Christ. As long as we keep this first and foremost, we can not be overcome by the trials of this life.

John 16:33
The Message (MSG)
31-33 Jesus answered them, “Do you finally believe? In fact, you’re about to make a run for it—saving your own skins and abandoning me. But I’m not abandoned. The Father is with me. I’ve told you all this so that trusting me, you will be unshakable and assured, deeply at peace. In this godless world you will continue to experience difficulties. But take heart! I’ve conquered the world.”

CHRISTMAS2014

About mamalotsoftots

mamalotsoftots, doesn't that say it all? ;) View all posts by mamalotsoftots

Leave a Reply

